The gourmet restaurant

From fork to plate, Le Florida’s gourmet restaurant is committed to organic cuisine and local ingredients, short supply chains, the very best regional foods, and respect for the seasons. Because we lead a healthy way of life here, we can concentrate on taste and authenticity, and we cook sensible, nutritious, delicious food, as recognised by our Guide Michelin plate and inclusion in Fooding.

Marc Abramovici, a dedicated chef

Chef Marc Abramovici personifies the authenticity of our Gascon terroir. Born in Tarbes and passionate about Kendo, Marc started off helping in the kitchen at Le Florida before travelling the world of Michelin stars and international gastronomy.

He was in London first, at Tante Claire*** with Pierre Koffmann, and then Lyon at Orsi with Pierre Orsi before discovering Spain from the heights of El Raco Can Fabes*** where Chef Santi Santamaria taught him his own love for the simplest dishes. But after a spell at Abac**, Marc came home to his Gascon roots in 2013, back to Le Florida to join forces with the proprietor, Baptiste Ramounéda.

The supremacy of local products

Seduced by the charm of Le Florida, and inspired by the rich, fertile land and everything it produces, delighted by the small organic farmers of the region, most of them within five kilometres of the inn, Marc says :

“The Gers offers us a fabulous terroir – land where organic farming is essential – which gives us the opportunity to honour the noble local products, such as Noir de Bigorre pigs raised in natural meadows in the Pyrenees, Gers guinea fowl reared in the open and, of course, tender sucking lamb.”

Permaculture potagers are next door, and Marc himself chooses the fruit, flowers and old-fashioned vegetables, all grown with love. The rivers of Mirande supply freshwater shrimp; from the Adour Valley come black pearls of regional caviar; from Saint-Jean-de-Luz freshly caught fish… So many delectable treasures, lightly and simply cooked, always with aromatic herbs adding their dimension to our jus, bouillons and infusions.

Our specialities

Changing with the seasons, the menu reinterprets traditional recipes with modern cooking techniques, and reinvents itself as a herb, surf and turf triptych. Thus breast of Noir de Bigorre pork with squid in a Floc de Gascogne sauce, chicken with crayfish, leg of lamb à la gasconne pricked with anchovies… And of course, Mère Angèle’s famous sweetbreads are always on the menu, as they have been for 85 years. 

Open terrasse

From 20 June to 10 September, Le Florida serves meals outside, opposite the garden and the hen house where Sussex, Coucous, Cendrées and red hens roam. From the romantically lit terrace under the chestnut tree to the higher terrace with a view over the village of Castéra-Verduzan, the Chef and his team offer the rewarding experience of a fine meal surrounded by nature.

For the rest of the year, the auberge welcomes you indoors in lovely salons created by Baptiste Ramounéda, whose décor combines family treasures and curiosities in an elegant ambiance.

Reservations recommended

  • All year round, lunch and dinner from Wednesday to Saturday: to arrive between 1215 and 1315 or 1915 and 2030, and Sunday lunch, to arrive between 1215 and 1315
  • In peak season, lunch and dinner Monday to Sunday: to arrive between 1215 and 1315 or 1915 and 2030. Tuesday we take a break to maintain our levels of excellence and wellbeing.

Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant.

A gourmet restaurant

Summer terrace

Free wifi

Takeaways

Your in-house chef

2 rue du Lac – 32410 Castéra-Verduzan
Tel. : +33 5 62 68 13 22
Mail : info@lefloridagascony.fr

THEY TALK ABOUT US

FLORIDA ON INSTAGRAM

La table gastronomique

De la fourche à l’assiette, le restaurant gastronomique du Florida s’engage autour d’une cuisine locavore et bio qui privilégie les circuits-courts, les bons produits régionaux et respecte les saisons. Parce que la santé est dans notre campagne, nous faisons le pari du goût et de l’authenticité en prêchant une cuisine saine et toujours plus consciente.
Un engagement récompensé d’une assiette au Guide Michelin, d’une note 14/20 au Gault&Millau.

Marc Abramovici, chef engagé

L’authenticité du terroir gascon s’incarne avec le chef-saucier Marc Abramovici. Natif de Tarbes, cet ancien kendoka qui débuta au Florida comme commis, a sillonné le monde auprès des fines lames étoilées de la cuisine internationale. 

A Londres d’abord, auprès du chef Pierre Koffmann et son restaurant Tante Claire***, table aux trois macarons Michelin, puis à Lyon aux côtés de Pierre Orsi et son restaurant Orsi*, avant de découvrir l’Espagne au restaurant El Raco Can Fabes*** où le chef Santi Santamaria lui fait découvrir l’amour du produit cuisiné en toute simplicité. Après un passage chez Abac** à Barcelone, il revient sur ses terres gasconnes et rejoint l’Auberge Le Florida en 2013 où il collabore aujourd’hui auprès du propriétaire, Baptiste Ramounéda.

Réservations conseillées !

Mercredi à Samedi (déjeuner & dîner) : Arrivées de 12h15 à 13h15 & 19h15 à 20h30 et Dimanche midi : Arrivées de 12h15 à 13h15

En haute saison = Le dimanche soir, le restaurant est ouvert. Arrivée de 19h15 à 20h30.

Les lundis et mardis, l’établissement s’octroie une pause pour perpétuer son excellence dans le bien-être.

Les chiens ne sont pas admis à la table de notre restaurant, terrasse comprise.

La puissance du “biocal”

Séduit par le charme de l’auberge, le chef s’inspire de la richesse du terroir – “le produit, tout le produit, rien que le produit” -, et part à la rencontre des petits producteurs bio et des paysans, la majorité situés dans un rayon de 25 kilomètres autour de l’auberge.

“Le Gers nous offre un terroir fabuleux, raconte le chef, un territoire où la culture du bio occupe l’essentiel des cultures. L’occasion de mettre à l’honneur les produits nobles, du porc noir de Bigorre, une race typique élevée dans les prairies naturelles, à la pintade du Gers en plein air en passant par l’agneau de lait des Pyrénées à la chair tendre”.

Des potagers en permaculture d’à côté, il sélectionne fruits, fleurs et légumes oubliés tous cultivés avec amour. Des rivières du Mirandais, il sublime les belles crevettes d’eau douce, de la Vallée de l’Adour il fait découvrir la perle noire du caviar régional, de Saint-Jean-de-Luz les meilleurs poissons de ligne… Des trésors cuisinés ici avec simplicité, légèreté et goût, toujours associés à des végétaux. Jus, bouillons, infusions viennent également sublimer la complexité aromatique.

Les plats de L’Auberge

Changeant en fonction des saisons, la carte réinterprète les recettes d’antan autour de cuissons et techniques modernes, et se réinvente autour du triptyque « Végétal, Terre et Mer ». Ainsi de la poitrine de porc noir de Bigorre aux calamars et sauce au Floc de Gascogne, du poulet aux écrevisses, du gigot d’agneau à la gasconne piqué d’anchois… Tradition oblige, le fameux ris de veau de la Mère Angèle est toujours à la carte depuis… 85 ans.

Terrasse pleine nature

Du 20 juin au 10 septembre, l’Auberge Le Florida fait déguster sa cuisine face au jardin et au poulailler, là où gambadent Sussex, Coucou, Cendrée et poule rousse fermières. De la terrasse sous le marronnier illuminé à celle perchée avec vue sur le village de Castéra-Verduzan, le chef et sa brigade offrent l’expérience d’une cuisine pleine nature.

Le reste de l’année, l’auberge vous accueille dans ses salons intérieurs. Mis en scène par Baptiste Ramounéda, les décors mélangent objets de famille et de curiosités, dans une ambiance au design épuré.

Restaurant gastronomique

Terrasse d’été

Free wifi

Plats à emporter

Chef à domicile

2 rue du Lac – 32410 Castéra-Verduzan
Téléphone : 05 62 68 13 22
E-mail : info@lefloridagascony.fr

ON PARLE DE NOUS

LE FLORIDA SUR INSTAGRAM